White Pagoda Temple Courtyard Renovation

Beijing 2018-01

Nowadays, an increasing amount of young people choose to leave their old houses in Hutong and settle in the new areas of the city surrounded by concrete jungles. The old city has become a rundown area full of seniors. An essential objective of this urban renewal is to bring the young generation back to live in the old city.

Therefore, we expect that in this renovation project, on one hand, respect the existing spatial organization of the courtyard in order to preserve its original spatial quality. On another hand, transform it into a living space that is more suitable for the contemporary lifestyle of the young generation. These are the directions that block renewal and building renovation projects aim to follow.

This project involves the renovation of a traditional courtyard house located in the Hutong within Beijing’s second ring road, covering a total area of around 250m2. The aim is to turn an old and shabby courtyard into a desirable courtyard house for homestay. Regarding the specifications, the aim is to find a new way of living within the traditional Beijing courtyard house with respect to the contemporary style of living.

The existing courtyard sits at a Y-shaped intersection in which two facades are fully exposed to the streets and can be viewed by pedestrians. While the boundaries of the courtyard are presented to people on the street, a strong visual impact is easily created. The courtyard originally ammonites 8 families. In order to maximise the usable space to satisfy the needs of a large number of residents, illegal renovations of adding additional building components are commonly built, creating a typical courtyard compound occupied by many households. Consequently, the additional building components in the centre of the courtyard need to be removed in order to reveal the original spatial composition of the courtyard.

There are a total of 6 guest rooms located within the courtyard, they are each designed with different area, function and spatial composition. The smallest guest room is 20 m2 and the largest guest room is 30 m2. 3 of the guest rooms are lofts and the another 3 are master rooms. Despite the difference in size, the rooms are also organised with different colours schemes. 3 of them have light colour tone and the other 3 have dark colour tone. Apart from the guest rooms, all other spaces are public spaces, which are available for public exhibition and display during the day.

After removing the additional illegal building components, the 6 guest rooms form a new square shape courtyard. On the southern centre of the courtyard, a new staircase tower has been built using the recycled old grey tiles from the demolished parts of the building. Following up the staircase, an exhibition space is formed on the rooftop after reinforcing the original structure of the building. Standing on the rooftop under the shadow of large trees, a panoramic view extends from the courtyard all the way to the Miaoying Temple. The magnificence and beauty of the continuous traditional buildings are fully expressed from the view of the rooftop.


PROJECT NAMEWhite Pagoda Temple Hutong Courtyard Renovation
PROJECT LOCATIONNo. 14, Gongmenkou 2, Xicheng District, Beijing, China
CLIENTsth.here
SIZE1th Floor
SITE AREA

246 m²

BUILDING AREA215 m²
DESIGN PERIOD08.2016 - 02.2017
CONSTRUCTION PERIOD11.2016 - 01.2018
PHOTOGRAPHY CREDITXia Zhi

北京白塔寺大杂院改造

北京 2018-01

越来越多的年轻人离开了胡同中的老宅,选择在高楼林立的城市新区中生活。老城区变得越来越像是老年人的城市。如何让年轻人重新回到老城中生活,是城市更新的一项重要内容。

因此,我们希望在这个改造项目中,一方面尊重院落的原始空间格局,保留以前的空间特质。另一方面,将其改造成为适合现代年轻人生活方式的居住空间。这是街区更新及此类建筑改造项目应循的方向。

本项目是一个位于北京二环里胡同中的传统合院建筑改造项目,院落占地约250平方米,我们将曾经的破旧杂院改造为四合院民宿。结合业态要求,试图在北京传统的四合院空间中融入新时代的居住生活方式。

院落位于一个Y字形路口,相对难得的可以看到完整的两个沿街立面,院墙可以较为完整的展现在人眼前,视觉上对院落整体有非常直观的感受。院内原本容纳了8户人家共同生活。为满足生活面积的需要,院内违章加建现象较为严重,形成了典型的大杂院格局,空间杂乱局促。因此,我们将院落中心位置的加建建筑拆除,还原出合院的原始格局。

入口进门首先是一条笔直的廊道,右侧是对公众开放的咖啡馆,廊道尽头是内院的大门。院内共设计6间客房,建筑面积与功能布局各不相同。其中最小的房间为20平方米,最大的房间为30平方米。其中3间是loft格局的小客房,另外3间为大客房。且在房间内部色调有所区分,3间客房为浅色调,3间客房为深色调。除客房外,其余室内空间均为公共空间,日常作为展览空间使用。

拆除加建建筑后,6间客房及展览空间重新围合出一个方形庭院。在庭院南侧中心位置,我们使用拆除原有建筑而保留下来的旧青砖搭建了一座楼梯塔。顺“塔”盘旋而上,是展览空间的屋顶,经过结构加固之后作为屋顶露台。在大树的庇荫之下,近可俯瞰整座院落,远可眺望妙应寺白塔,而展现传统建筑群体魅力的连绵起伏的屋顶立面也尽在眼前。

项目名称 北京白塔寺胡同大杂院改造项目
项目地点中国北京市西城区宫门口二条14号(北京鲁迅博物馆东180米)
客户有术sth.here
规模一层(局部Loft,局部屋顶平台)
用地面积246平米
建筑面积215平米
设计周期08.2016 - 02.2017
施工周期11.2016 - 01.2018
摄影师夏至